Gulf Shores, Alabama…2014

Pictures not printed are just files on your computer, or hard drive in my case. It’s been almost a year and a half since my oldest son and I went to Gulf Shores, Alabama with my parents for a little fall vacation. I didn’t have a DSLR camera yet, just a fancy point-and-shoot, but it was the year I had seriously dived into studying about photography. Maybe it’s a good thing that I waited so long to finally go through all the photos from our time in Gulf Shores because when I was first starting out I knew next to nothing about editing photos. Now I understand a lot more, though I still have a lot to learn, and I was able to save many underexposed photos.

While I was editing and picking out which ones to include in the photo book to print it was interesting to see what areas of photography I had an understanding in. Things like composition, angles, and light I seemed to have some sort of grasp on but when it came to exposing my images there was definitely some room for improvement. And I could see that most of the time I had the mentality that I would fix up the picture in Photoshop (or Lightroom) later instead of taking the time to carefully compose an image.Though, when chasing a toddler while seven months pregnant that can be hard to do. Also, it was clear I had no concept of storytelling whatsoever. Most of the pictures I took were of my son and the beach but I had hardly any pictures of the other people who were with us, where we were staying, and what we were doing. I am still glad of the pictures I did take and I can’t wait to get the photo book in the mail.

Without further ado, here are some of my favorites from the trip!

 

 

Leave a Reply

